So.Synonymous.

HipHop x Sports

Lil Wayne Talks To ESPN About Tha Carter V & Kobe Bryant’s Influence: Carter V Tour COMING SOON

Lil Wayne Talks To ESPN About Tha Carter V & Kobe Bryant's Influence: Carter V Tour COMING SOON

In a recent interview with ESPN, Lil Wayne talked about his upcoming final album, Tha Carter V … With some good material flowing from Wayne’s corner as of late, the anticipation for the Young Money frontman is heating up…

While Tha Carter V does not have a release date yet, it looks as if Wayne will still be hitting the road to promote his upcoming project … Odds are we won’t be seeing this album for a summertime release, but hopefully it will be just in time for late summer like Tha Carter IV was:

cartervtour

Here are some excerpt’s from Wayne’s interview w/ ESPN:

On getting athletes involved with C5 hype: “My [manager] Cortez came up with it: What do you think about Kobe tweeting the album art? I’m like, what do I think? That’d be dope. So I had the homey hit him up simple procedure: Hey, can you tweet this? And he did [on April 28]. It wasn’t planned or paid—I only went to the homeys as a favor for a friend.”

On Kobe Bryant’s contribution: “‘Carter V Season’ was all Kobe. He came up with it. I saw that and thought, That’s dope as hell, so that’s what we’re calling the [album] campaign. I thanked him. Then we thought about Floyd.”

On the album’s premise: “Tha Carter V is about growth, flat-out. My thoughts are wiser. I still say what I want to say—it just sounds better and makes more sense. That all comes with growth and maturity.”

On his songwriting: “I never try to send messages through music. Music is about self. It’s supposed to be personal, a reflection of me, unless you have somebody writing it for you, and everybody know I’m not that artist. I’m not sending a message because that message may not get across. Whatever message you take from it is your choice.”

On Donald Sterling: “I have no thoughts about a man who doesn’t, or can’t, think.”

What you think?

Information

This entry was posted on 06/01/2014 by in Hip-Hop, Hip-Hop News, NBA, Sports and tagged , , , , .
